Surfing the Light

Yes I have come to the realisation that I am just not a natural blogger.

I write so many things in the shower  or, while out for a walk or while ‘meditating’ or driving…and they all sit there safely tucked in my head because I am finding it increasing hard to find or (maybe more truthfully) to justify time spent sitting in front of a screen.

Tweeting, facebooking, pining, sticking, adding, blog-hopping, instagraming…. all these activities! Where are people finding the time?

I try my best. As an author I am expected to do a certain amount and I do admit that of all of the social media I like twitter the most. I follow some lovely people and organisations, so am inclined to click on links they post and each click opens to a world of positive action, creativity and ideas  that you would never find without the tweets.

It’s ironic. So many talk about the dangers of the internet, the shadowy corners and the gloomy underworld where pedophiles and all sorts of psychos lurk.  That world certainly exists, just as it does in the ‘real’ world and it is not a pleasant world.

But the underbelly and subculture of my internet world is not the deep dark web. It is a heaving mass of good. Every new click leads to another group of people sharing quotes, ideas, achievements and concerns that all have an aim to uplift, inspire, enthuse  and change the world.

I prefer the worlds outside the screen, the world of healing where dimensions widen and I experience a bigger brighter aspect of the dimension we live in. And the physical world of sea and mist, of trees and moss and stone and of purring kittens, laughter and tears and bright flowers nodding in the sun.

But I also have a fondness for the world that opens through the portal of technology. With my trusty little Mac and his sidekick iPhone, I can enter the giant collective brain that is “us”. And what a busy brain it is. In bursts of light and bits and bytes a matrix of information spreads instantly throughout this strange collective world.

Because of this, the web becomes a tremendous force for good. The divine is everywhere and everything can be used for good or ill. But as human beings, as social human beings, we are most inspired by each other.

Gandhi said: “Be the change you want to see in the world”

Prem Rawat Maharaji reminds often that: “What we practice we get good at.”

In the Gospel of Thomas Jesus says: “Split a piece of wood, and I am there. Lift a stone, and you will find me there.”

These three quotes to me summarize the positive power of our shared internet brain and are also the basic requirements for successful living. We first have to walk the walk, only then can we inspire others. We can only walk the walk by continually walking it. Every day, like Beckett said, try harder, fail better, get up and try again. And most of all, knowing that the Divine is everywhere and can be found in everything, even in the internet!

Leave a Reply

